Design in Culture or Culture in Design…

The reason why I take this course began from my personal curiosity about a possibility to express something or an image as a universally accepted meaning to everybody in the world. I also know that all people think respectively with their own way, however, I have been observing some situations that people think and recognize as the same meaning when they look at something even though they have totally different their own culture. For instance, first, road signs… Road signs is everywhere in the world if there are roads. Although the language is different, similar shapes, images and colors could deliver the same meaning. Second, icons on application programs. It is true that it is faster to deliver the meaning through images than only literal display. It is a surprising thing that everyone knows how to use a same mobile phone or a same word processing program from same icon display. Third, films… When a director shows some scenes, he or she provides us a series of different images through different means by different cultural contexts. However, we, as an audience, can notice the director’s intention which gives information from these cuts.

At this point, I have one curiosity about a sequence or an order regarding culture and design. DESIGN has been formed in CULTURE or people became to adapt themselves to DESIGN and have been evolving new CULTURE as a result of it.

After writing this one, I noticed that I am pretty serious now.. But, throughout this class I like to achieve some goals for my personal curiosities. How can culture apply to interaction design? As a designer, how can I find the ways to interact with culture through various processes?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Design in Culture or Culture in Design…

  1. This is a profound question: “I have one curiosity about a sequence or an order regarding culture and design. DESIGN has been formed in CULTURE or people became to adapt themselves to DESIGN and have been evolving new CULTURE as a result of it.”

    Does culture exist, and then design happens “in” it? If that is the case, then in some sense culture determines the possibilities and limits of design. Or, does design introduce changes to culture, to the point that design in some ways determines the possibilities and limits of culture?

    I think as a class we should discuss this. I can see both arguments being made passionately, and I already know what *I* think, but I’m not telling! Let’s discuss this question in class! Additionally, when you do your readings, ask how the author would probably answer this question!

Leave a Reply

